Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > Glade Forum > Installation > Topic : Installing Glade on Mac OS X



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Installing Glade on Mac OS X (6 Replies, Read 10737 times)
Keith
Group: Moderator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 776
Status:
First download from:

http://www.peardrop.co.uk/glade/glade4_mac64.tar.gz (64 bit only)

Unzip/untar to a directory of choice, then follow the instructions in the README.txt file. Note that for the embedded Python interpreter to work correctly you MUST set the env var PYTHONPATH to the directory where glade is installed, so it can find the ui.py module. The env var GLADE_HOME is recommended but not essential; Glade will attempt to locate the online html docs based on the app's location if this is not set.

NB prior to version 4.2.4, Glade was built with ActiveState Python. This caused several problems if you just tried to use the version of Python which comes with the Mac (thank you to the users who reported this!). So as of 4.2.4, Glade is linked to the Mac python (currently version 2.7).
IP: --   

Installing Glade on Mac OS X
mguthaus
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 2
Status:
I have OSX Snow Leopard and have hesitated to upgrade to Lion. Is there any reason this shouldn't work with Snow Leopard? I tried (but not very hard) and get an error:

"glade cannot be opened because of a problem."

Very specific.  :xd:

Thanks,

Matt

IP: --   

Installing Glade on Mac OS X
Keith
Group: Moderator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 776
Status:
Hi  Matt,

Any more info or error messages to debug this? I am building on Lion, but alas have no means to build or test on older versions of the OS. From what I was led to believe by the Trolltech/Nokia/Digia folks, this would be compatible (from a Qt point of view) with OS's from 10.5 onwards.

cheers

Keith
IP: --   

Installing Glade on Mac OS X
Keith
Group: Moderator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 776
Status:
One thing worth checking is the version of Python on your Mac. Glade was built linked to version 2.7, it's possible you have an older version and that is causing a problem.
IP: --   

Installing Glade on Mac OS X
mguthaus
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 2
Status:
Yes, it was a Python version problem. I was getting this error:


May 11 10:24:28 otaku [0x0-0x27027].com.peardrop.glade[426]: dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Python

but after installing 2.7 from python.org it works fine. Thanks!

IP: --   

Installing Glade on Mac OS X
Keith
Group: Moderator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 776
Status:
One other thing to watch out for on the Mac. If you have Qt libraries installed on your machine, and they are defined in the DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable, and they are of a different version to the ones shipped with the glade.app bundle, then you will most likely get a crash if you try and run Glade from the command line rather than click on it in the Finder.

The reason is that when clicked on with the Finder, OSX environment variables are ignored by the app, which looks for and finds the Qt libs in the .app bundle.

When run from the command line, the executable knows nothing about the .app bundle libs, and looks at DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH instead. And if e.g. you have Qt 4.8.2 on your system, but Glade was compiled with 4.8.6, it will print an error message to the terminal and die...


Edited by Keith : September 17, 2014, 2:49 pm
IP: --   

Installing Glade on Mac OS X
Keith
Group: Moderator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 776
Status:
A nasty bug has been fixed in 4.6.4 that caused some shortcut keys (bindkeys) not to work on the Mac. This is actually a bug in Qt itself... the Qt folks have been notified.
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is July 23, 2017, 2:37 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.9 © 2007-2011 Electron Inc.Queries: 12  |  Page Created In:0.018